18/02/2022 | Writer: Kaos GL

Socially engaged artists from Turkey, China and Serbia will address the broad topic of Un/Freedom, and link it to their art, their thinking, past or present activities or interests.

Un/Freedom: Art as Activism Kaos GL - News Portal for LGBTI+

February 21st, 2022

Belgrade 12.00-15.00;  Helsinki 13.00 - 16.00; Istanbul 14.00-17.00; China 19.00-22.00

The workshop gathers artists who are using different mediums of their creative expressions to address intimate, social, and political issues relevant for local, regional and/or global contexts. Socially engaged artists from Turkey, China and Serbia will address the broad topic of  Un/Freedom, and link it to their art, their thinking, past or present activities or interests. 

Some of the questions and issues which may initiate our discussions are: freedom, its lacks and limits;  freedom as/through creation and destruction; un/free body, emotion, mind and desire; freedom and public-private space; freedom and dis/appearance... This is not an exhaustive list of themes we hope to discuss with the artists and with the attending audience.

Simultaneous Chinese - English - Turkish translation provided!

Zoom meeting link:  https://hku.zoom.us/j/93585493244         Zoom meeting ID: 935 8549 3244    QR Code in the poster!

un-freedom-art-as-activism-1

Speakers:

Asya Leman

Furkan Öztekin

Şafak Şule Kemancı

Zheng Hongbin

Wu Laobai

Olga Dimitrijević

Ivana Smiljanić

 

The document which will briefly introduce the artists and their work will be to be shared with the participants before the workshop and with the audience at the beginning of the workshop

 

Sponsors: 

Sino-Nordic Gender Studies Network/NIAS

University of Helsinki, Gender Studies Unit 

KAOS GL and Ankara Queer Art Program

 

Co-organizers and moderators:

Aylime Asli Demir, Xiong Jing, Dušica Ristivojević 


Tags: arts and culture
bülten